Village Candles Review

Village Candles

The small town I live in has some lovely little gift shops and it was in one of these I picked up two Village Candles. I’m usually a Yankee Candle fan through and through and I’ve seen Village Candles a couple of times but never taken the plunge in buying one. That was until I was browsing one of the little gift shops and saw they had 25% off Village Candles, how could I resist? Now seemed the perfect opportunity to buy them and so I chose two:

Summer Slices – Juicy Watermelon, refreshing Cucumber

Brownie Delight – Butter, Sugar, Dark Chocolate, Vanilla

The one thing that annoys me about Yankee Candles is the fact the large jar candles only have one wick that often ends in the candle becoming tunnelled, even with all the accessories that are supposed to help like the shade and wick trimmer. However the Village Candles come with a double wick. I was intrigued to see if it would burn better and all the way to the edge and lo and behold it did! Brilliant.

I was worried the scents on the candles wouldn’t be as strong on the Village Candles. Yankee are great for fragrancing the whole room and there’s nothing worse than buying a scented candle for it to have little effect. So imagine my delight when burning the Brownie Delight candle on a cold February evening as it began to fill my living room with a warming Brownie-baking-in-the-oven fragrance.

I tried the Summer Slices candle on a warm March afternoon when you could just feel Spring starting in the air. I know this scent will be perfect in the Summer. It’s a light smell and not too heavy for the warm Summer air. I can not wait to burn this on warm Summer evenings with the French doors open. Bliss.

So Village Candles, are they a patch on Yankee Candles? They’re a very strong contender and I might just be a convert 😉

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Village Candles Review

  1. nayardt says:

    I love Yankee candles but not their price! How much do village candles cost?

    Like

Leave a Reply

